Pumpkin Spice and Everything Nice

IMG_20141013_220743

Hello, all! It has indeed been a while since my last post. I apologize for the delay. I’ve been busy with my two jobs, and on my days off, I just go to the gym, cook and clean, then binge on Netflix. I’ve been baking up a storm the past month or so. I’ve fallen into the trap. I’ve been doing pumpkin like I thought I wouldn’t be doing. Cliché? Yes. Delicious? Yes,

Some attempts have worked out while others had some glitches. I’ve been experimenting on desserts I have never done before like cheesecake and upside down cake. (I need to try that cheesecake again. It was a little too soft in the middle; it tasted amazing, however. Any tips would be appreciated!)

But it turns out that one of the favorites of the past few weeks have been these here Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies. Before I say or show any more, I have to forewarn you that these cookies are trouble. They are addictive—like “have five in one sitting” addictive. And easy—like” I’ll whip up another batch because the last one is all gone” easy. They’re amazing. Let me tell you that Sally lady is brilliant! I keep going back to her recipes.

20141008_130743

These cookies are loaded with good stuff. Cranberries, pumpkin, spices, oatmeal, and a secret ingredient that really adds some oomph. They’re unbelievably, delectably soft and flavorful. Basically, these cookies embody the taste of fall. Perfection!

20141008_121657

So go on a run, take a nice hot shower, turn on the soothing voice of Dean Martin, and get baking!

20141008_123753

Now Sally has a few different variations of this cookie. I chose to do the Cranberry White Chocolate chip version with my own variation.  So, as usual, mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, then pour the wet into the dry. The dough will be heavy, wet, and sticky. Fun, fun, fun. The next step is to incorporate the add-ins. Fold in the oats, tart dried cranberries, and your choice of chips. One thing to remember is that Sally advises that you use 1.5 cups of add-ins. So go crazy; be creative. Just make sure you use 1.5 cups of whatever.

20141008_124010

I’ll now reveal my secret ingredient, one that I had never used before. Actually, come to think of it, I’m not sure I knew these things even existed. Am I behind on the times? Most likely. These chips made this cookie what it is for me. I’ll never make them without ’em. So here it is, my secret ingredient:

20141008_124036

So the night before I made these, I was blog jumping and I saw a few blogs mention something called Cinnamon chips. My scrolling screeched to a halt. Wait! What? Cinnamon chips? Hmm…do they taste like red hots? Yuck. But everybody says they make the fall season bright. What the heck. So that was my conversation with myself. I went to the store the next morning and was thrilled to see that these were, in fact, real. I had to taste them when I got home, hoping that they weren’t another version of nasty red hots. Boy, are these cinnamon chips delicious. I have discovered a new favorite ingredient.

So blah blah blah. Just fold these on in, folks. You won’t regret it.

20141008_124251

I used a couple tablespoon-fulls to make a cookie ball and placed it on my parchment paper covered cookie sheet. Golly, do I love parchment paper.

20141008_125726

Bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes and bam! You have the perfect, soft cookie that smells and tastes like fall in the purest form. You’re welcome in advance. My brother probably ate more cookies than I did. And that’s saying a lot.

20141008_130752

So until, next time everybody. Follow up a run in the fresh fall air with the taste of pumpkin and the scent of cinnamon!

Happy baking!

Here’s the link to the recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction blog: Favorite Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice and Everything Nice

Leave a Reply

