This Venerable, Beautiful City: Positano

20150502_170421

It has been a little while since I last posted about an Italian adventure. This is partly because I am try to focus on studying for the GRE that I may or may not take and because I have started back at my highly thrilling job again, but mostly it’s because I’m attempting to elongate my adventures and time in Italy even after I have returned home. I just don’t want it to end. And completing my blog about Italy means the end, right? Sad face.

This little post is about Positano, Italy. After taking a sorrowful leave of my host family and the Marche region of Italy, I bussed it on down to Rome, trained it to Naples, trained it again to Sorrento, and bussed it to Positano, all by myself. It was a long, miserable day of travel. But Positano is so worth it. So worth it. I loved this city, a city on a hill located a short distance from Amalfi. The weekend I went was something like the opening weekend of tourist season, so there were a good amount of people there, but not anything close to what the summer brings (or, at least) I would imagine. Positano is speckled with a rainbow of unique, multicolored houses, loaded with Italian seafood restaurants, and never devoid of limoncello. Positano is known for being the headquarters of everything lemon. And it’s located on the sea, boasting many spectacular views.

20150502_093518

20150502_125827

How can you not fall in love with this city?! It’s one of those cities that brainwashes you into thinking that it’s okay to spend that extra 100,000 euros on one more night. Just one more night. The cycle continues, and before you know it the Italian government hunts you down and kicks you out of the country because you kept spending one more night in Positano for the past 4 months. Hypothetically speaking, of course.

20150502_112938

Positano is pretty pricey to stay in, but DO IT. You won’t be sorry. I would recommend Hostel Brikette or trying to find something closer to the beach on Airbnb. Closer to the beach is worth the money. Why? Well, Positano is on a hill, so naturally, there are steps to get to the beach. Any California girl wouldn’t find that abnormal. But these are not just a couple flights of stairs and done—these are torturous. I heard a local say that the steps numbered something around 763, one way. Ashley and I were doing roundtrips twice or three times daily. It was painful. Or, on the other hand, it was a stair master. Whichever way you want to look at it.

20150502_112929

But when your eyes behold this, who cares about anything? Gosh, I love this place. It reminded me of Nice in that it was a city that encouraged relaxation and happiness. Positano was just so darn beautiful, busy, and relaxed all at the same time. I see why it is a popular tourist destination. Positano is not that far from Pompei, Sorrento, Naples, and Capri, so that and it’s loveliness makes it a perfect base for exploring this part of Italy.

20150502_104644

I’m coming back, Positano. One day, I am coming back, and it will be a nice long stay. And I’ll drink limoncello, and eat really good seafood, and hike the Path of God, and go back to Capri, and spend lots of money. It will be fantastic.

Sorry for the rambling, buy I hope you can tell how special this city is to me. The next post will be about another favorite city of mine, so stay tuned—if not for the words, for the pictures because these are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

