Pasticceria: Torta di Mele

20151003_095820

Model: sista sista Anna

Hello, all. The red leaves and chilly days are now upon us. It’s that time of year again! The time when I spend my days off in the kitchen baking up pies, cakes, cookies, and cinnamon rolls that smell delightful. It’s the time of year when I begin to up my cardio regimen. Here’s my first fall baking post of this year. Why have they been basically non existent? There are a couple no-good reasons.

1)Well, after taking the GRE, I took a few days off and now am working on my graduate applications. So. much. Work.

2) Aside from being too lazy to document my baking ventures. My kitchen is terrible in regard to lighting and scenery. And my phone’s camera is outdated and terrible.

But, I had to document this recipe. I just had to. Turn on the Gladiator soundtrack and try this one out!


When I was in Italy, I was in heaven, considering all the different food to which I was introduced. There were a few desserts, or dolci, that I was determined to remake when I returned to the states. This apple cake is one of them

I first had Torta di Mele at the middle school, the day I realized that meals were not a joke in Italy. It was the last course of the meal, and I had no idea what it was called, but it was so good. Perfect taste and texture. I began looking for recipes shortly after I returned home. Let me tell you, it’s a hard undertaking to find a recipe that’s authentic AND measured out in terms that we Americans know what to do with. People say that metric measurements make more sense than imperial, but after having spent many years with only imperial measurements, I find it hard to concede. It was definitely a challenge trying to translate and transfer measurements over when I was baking in Italy. Sometimes you just don’t have the time and energy to do the conversions. What’s a girl to do?

Then I found it. A website that made me homesick for Italy all over again. Just when I thought I was all right, that I was dealing with it. Nope. Nostalgia all over again. Memorie di Agelina. This website is AMAZING. Head right on over there if you want to find hundreds of traditional recipes to try out. Antipasti, Primi Piati, Secondi Piati, Dolci—you name it, they have it. Love at first glance. I look forward to working through what Frank has so diligently put together for his readers.

He had it! A recipe for Torta di Mele, a wonderfully easy recipe at that. It’s so simple that you could make it every day (which you just might want to after you taste this). The recipe’s measurements are given in ounces and grams, perfect for those looking for an authentic recipe. However, because I’m so used to cups and tablespoons,  I wanted to make it just a little bit easier for my future self by converting the measurements to the imperial system. Please go read his commentary on the apple torte! But for your convenience, here are the converted measurements.


Torta di Mele (From Memorie di Angelina)

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

7 Tbsp. butter, melted

3/4 cup milk

1 Tbsp. baking powder

the zest of one lemon

1 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

1 3/4 cup + 1 Tbsp flour (The conversion of flour from grams to cups is tricky. This is a suggested measurement.)

5 medium apples; peeled, cored, and somewhat thinly sliced


Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease medium size springform pan generously with butter.

Now, make the batter first. Whisk eggs and sugar together until blended.

20151029_094719

Add rest of ingredients, except flour, to the eggs and sugar.

20151029_095232

While the mixer is running on a medium speed, slowly pour flour in.

20151029_100408

The batter will be thick like pancake batter. Turn speed to high to get rid of any flour clumps.

20151029_094735

Add apples to directly batter and fold in. It will seem like there are more apples than there should be. Quite frankly, it will look like a little batter to go with your apples. Don’t worry! That is probably what makes this cake so good. Pour batter into buttered springform pan. Run spatula on top of batter to even out. Sprinkle with a little more granulated sugar. I also topped mine with a heavy sprinkling of cinnamon because FALL.

20151029_101517

Place pan in heated oven. Frank’s recipe states “for about an hour”; however, depending on your oven, it might take a little less time. I checked mine at 50 minutes, and the cake had already started to pull away from the sides of the pan. Done! You can also test with a wooden skewer or toothpick.

20151029_111550

Remove from oven and place on wire rack. Let cool before removing from springform pan. Dust with powdered sugar for a touch of elegance, if desired.

20151029_184810

See how nicely the apples layer themselves within the cake? Yummmmm.

Torta di Mele is not a looker. Meaning if you’re wanting to impress friends with a aesthetically pleasing cake, this is not the one. But it tastes simply marvelous. My family members, who are dangerously close to tossing me out of the house for continuously talking about Italy months and months after my return, raved about it. Actually, there was just enough to give everyone one generous slice, and they were quite irritated that there wasn’t enough for seconds. It will be a hit, trust me. Italians know what they’re doing.

Super simple and delectable. You throw everything together, pour it into a pan, toss it in the oven, and an hour later, you get dessert that’s perfect for our fall season.

For more traditional Italian recipes, head over to Memorie di Angelina! I know I will.

Until next time, y’all! Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

